The value of work experience…by Sarah Stephenson

One of the photos I took in Birmingham

A photo I took in Birmingham

I am currently studying a BA (Hons) in Graphic Communication at the University of Wales Institute, Cardiff. My University was very keen for all second years to gain some work experience in the summer holidays before we went into our final and most important year of our degree.

So before the end of term in June, I began emailing graphic design agencies all over Birmingham. Thankfully, Big Cat replied, and after a short interview I started at the beginning of July. I am so grateful for all the help and guidance that I have received in the few weeks that I have been here.  The opportunity has been so worthwhile and I have gained an insight into designing for the real world.
I have been on two photo-shoots, created illustrations, and produced ideas and scamps for live briefs. Nathan also joined us for a week’s work experience in mid-July, and we rummaged through rubbish bins and created letterforms. Our input into one particular brief helped to create a unique and exciting piece of design, which felt great to be a part of. I have also been around the sites of Birmingham and took some abstract photographs, and got very messy when I helped with the interior design of the Old Library at the Custard Factory.
I have had such a beneficial time at Big Cat, and would advise anyone who will soon be let loose in the real world to get some work experience. It has definitely been a wake-up call for me, and I am now wiser in what standard I need to be at by the time I finish University; it is so important to absorb yourself within the graphic design industry and begin to make contacts as soon as you can.

Thankyou very much Big Cat!

You can now follow me on Twitter: @sarah_steve


1 Comment

Filed under graphic design

One response to “The value of work experience…by Sarah Stephenson

  1. And its been great to have you here Sarah. You have gone at your work with vigour and passion. Thanks for your input.

Leave a Reply

